TOWN OF PLATTSBURGH TOWN BOARD WORK SESSION AGENDA May 11, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by the presiding officer at the Town of Plattsburgh Town Hall, 151 Banker Road. Pledge.

	Present	<u>Absent</u>
Michael S. Cashman, Supervisor	X	
Thomas E. Wood, Councilor	X	
Barbara E. Hebert, Councilor	X	
Charles A. Kostyk, Councilor	X	
Dana M. Isabella, Councilor	X	
Kathryn B. Kalluche, Town Clerk	X	
James J. Coffey, Town Attorney	X	
	Thomas E. Wood, Councilor Barbara E. Hebert, Councilor Charles A. Kostyk, Councilor Dana M. Isabella, Councilor Kathryn B. Kalluche, Town Clerk	Michael S. Cashman, Supervisor x Thomas E. Wood, Councilor x Barbara E. Hebert, Councilor x Charles A. Kostyk, Councilor x Dana M. Isabella, Councilor x Kathryn B. Kalluche, Town Clerk x

Public Comments: None

Supervisor's Report: Town Board Semi-Monthly Meeting next week on Wednesday, May 17, 2023 at 6pm.

Resolution No. 023-114

In Recognition of Assemblyman D. Billy Jones

WHEREAS, Assemblyman D. Billy Jones has a long career of public service, serving as mayor of Chateaugay from 2009 to 2013 and as a Franklin County Legislator starting from 2010 to 2016, becoming chairman in 2013. He was then elected to the Assembly in 2016 to represent the 115th District, comprised of Clinton and Franklin counties, as well as several towns in St. Lawrence County; and

WHEREAS, Assemblyman Jones is actively involved with various organizations throughout the North Country, like the United Way of the Adirondack Region, and a member of several significant legislative committees (including Aging, Agriculture, Economic Development, Small Business, Tourism and Veterans' Affairs); and

WHEREAS, Assemblyman Jones remains engaged with issues facing our area, like the Canada-U.S. border. He was named the honorary Co-Chair for the Quebec-New York Corridor Coalition, the Co-Chair Council of State Government East's Canada-U.S. Committee and the Chair of the Task Force on New York-Canada Relations; and

WHEREAS, Assemblyman Jones has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to championing education throughout the Greater Plattsburgh Region not only through his

representation in seventeen of our area's school districts, but also by securing millions of dollars in state funding for programs like Older Adults Technology, Inc. (OATS), as well as his work in advocating for the importance of colleges, especially Clinton Community College; helping to fund the college's Institute for Advanced Manufacturing (IAM) and Zone 9 Police Training Academy; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Town Board of the Town of Plattsburgh wishes to extend congratulations to Assemblyman Jones upon receiving the Clinton Community College Educational Champion Award and for all of his efforts in helping to make the Greater Plattsburgh area thrive. We extend heartfelt appreciation for his years of public service, specifically his commitment to education in our region.

Motion: Dana M. Isabella

Seconded by: Barbara E. Hebert Discussion: Dana M. Isabella

	Yes	No	Absent	Carried	Tabled
				X	
Thomas E. Wood	X				
Barbara E. Hebert	X				
Charles A. Kostyk	X				
Dana M. Isabella	X				
Michael S. Cashman	X				

Draft Resolutions:

023-xxx Minutes

023-xxx Emergency Action Plan Policy

023-xxx Budget Amendment for April 2023

023-xxx Request for Greg Burnell to Attend the 2023 Highway School

023-xxx Seasonal Hire for Building and Grounds Department – Jacob Pierce

023-xxx Receive Draft Zoning Amendments, Type the SEQRA Action, Notice Public Hearing, Refer Plan to Involved Agencies

023-xxx Change Order No. 5 - Contract No. 4 - Electrical, Water Supply Improvements

023-xxx 2023 Highway Road Striping Program

Committee Reports:

Town Board meeting be adjourned at 6:20 PM.

Executive Session – as needed:

Motion to go into Executive Session to discuss proposed, pending or current litigation: arbitration with the City of

Motion to come out of Executive session

Plattsburgh regarding the Sewer Service Agreement between the Town and the City.

Motion by: Charles A. Kostyk Motion by: Barbara E. Hebert

Seconded by: Dana M. Isabella Seconded by: Dana M. Isabella

Time: 6:04 PM Time: 6:20 PM

	<u>YES</u>	<u>NO</u>		<u>YES</u>	<u>NO</u>
Thomas E. Wood	X		Thomas E. Wood	X	
Barbara E. Hebert	X		Barbara E. Hebert	X	
Charles A. Kostyk	X		Charles A. Kostyk	X	
Dana M. Isabella	X		Dana M. Isabella	X	
Michael S. Cashman	X		Michael S. Cashman	X	

Minutes Respectfully Submitted by:

Katie Kalluche, Town Clerk